14/10/2019

Meet Daniel Rushton – experienced family solicitor, budding chef and former ‘hygienic sanitation engineer’!

At Beswicks Legal we like to get to know people, so when we acquired Grindeys’ family team we were keen to find out all about our new colleagues.

Meet Daniel Rushton – Q&A

When did you decide to pursue a career in law?

As a child, I argued with my two sisters constantly, and it seemed a natural choice to go into law. I found family law very interesting at university and was lucky enough to be offered a role in that department when my training contract came to an end.

Why did you choose family law?

I have always been interested in helping people and I like to think I can improve someone’s life in this area of law by getting them through what must be the one of the toughest times of their life.

What was your first job (any job, not just legal) and what big lesson did you learn from it?

I worked as a hygienic sanitation engineer (cleaner) at Pork Farms whilst I was a student. It taught me what hard work was and to appreciate the value of money.

What’s the most satisfying thing about your job?

Earning the gratitude of clients you know you have helped through a difficult time.

What makes a good family solicitor?

Patience, understanding and appreciation of the impact you can have not just on the clients’ life, but on their wider family.

Do you have a secret talent?

I can hit a hockey ball quite hard, does that count?

If you weren’t a solicitor, what would your ideal job be?

I like to think I can cook, so perhaps a chef, so long as I owned the place I worked in and could take time off when I wanted.

What motto would you say you live and work by?

I used to be a cub scout, so ‘Do your best’.

If you could turn the clock back, what advice would you give to your 18-year-old self?

Be more confident in your own abilities.

If you could live anywhere in the world, where would it be and why?

I am torn between Canada, Sweden and New Zealand. Canada and Sweden, as my mother has just learned that her natural father was born in Sweden but lived most of his life in Canada and New Zealand because it looks so beautiful and isn’t too hot.

What do you enjoy doing in your spare time?

I spend time with children (when they aren’t on devices), go to the gym, watch Stoke City and occasionally play hockey.

What’s the best piece of advice you’ve ever been given?

‘If something’s worth doing, it’s worth doing well.’